

# 80<sup>th</sup>

# Annual General Meeting Minutes

Date: Monday 23<sup>rd</sup> October, 2023

Time: 7:00pm

AFL/Cricket Function Room (Level 1)
131 Eastern Road, Rooty Hill NSW 2766

Zoom Teleconference

# Agenda

- 1. Official Opening by Jason Chabi (BoM)
- 2. Record of Attendance confirm a quorum
- 3. Confirm Membership of the League (appendix C-previously completed)
- 4. Confirm Minutes from 2022 AGM (Appendix I)
- 5. Matters Arising from AGM 2022
- 6. Adopt Audited Financial Report (July 2022 to June 2023)
- 7. Notices of Motion (Appendix J)
- 8. Receive Business Reports as published in the Annual Report
- 9. Election of Life Members
- 10. Election of Board Members
- 11. Announcement of Standing Committee Delegates
- 12. Announcement of Audit Committee Appointees
- 13. Announcement of Technical Committee Appointees
- 14. BNSW Update
- 15. Closure

#### 1. Official Opening

**Meeting Opened:** 7:05 pm – Jason Chabi, welcomed everyone to the 80<sup>th</sup> AGM. He also acknowledged the respective life members who had attended in person.

## **Attendance & Apologies**

#### Attendees

- Baseball NSW Board of Directors
  - o Mark Burns
  - o Belinda Woolford
  - Peter Worboys
  - Beth McVicker-Murphy
  - o Jason Chabi
  - o James Morley
- Baseball NSW Staff
  - o Mark Marino Chief Executive Officer
  - o Grahame Cassel Baseball Development Manager
  - o Melinda Goodrich Registrations and Member Services Manager
  - o Tyson Crocker Competitions and Venue Manager
  - o Georgia Marino Communications Officer
- Audit Committee
  - o Gail Henderson
  - o John Wingrove Zoom
- Life Members
  - o John Wingrove Zoom
  - Peter Worboys
- Voting Delegates
  - o See the attendance sheet at TAB A, for all attendees at the AGM
- Apologies
  - Scott Tunkin
  - o Barry Holland
  - o Nigel Boon

#### 2. Membership of the League

Jason Chabi confirmed that a quorum was met in accordance with the provisions of the constitution as it relates to membership of the League.

Membership Categories of the League (Constitution Clause 7) are defined as being:

- Voting Affiliates, which can attend, debate and vote at meetings of the League
- Affiliated Clubs, can attend and debate
- Individual Members, can attend and debate
- Life Members, can attend and debate

#### 3. Confirm Minutes AGM 2022 (Appendix I)

The 2022 AGM Minutes were distributed some 30 days ago together with the Notice of the AGM.

**Motion:** To Confirm Minutes of the 2022 AGM as a true and correct record.

Moved By: Stephen Dredge

**Seconded By:** Janine Hunt

Outcome: Carried

## 4. Matters Arising

None

#### 5. BNSW Update

 President, Jason Chabi and CEO, Mark Marino spoke to their respective reports and addressed questions from the floor.

#### 6. Adopt Audited Financial Reports for the year ended 30th June 2023

**Presentation:** Financial Report delivered by Jason Chabi

- The Financial report was provided to Voting Affiliates as part of the Notice of AGM.
- Commentary on the Financial Report was delivered by Jason Chabi and Mark Marino.

**Motion:** Adopt the Audited Financial Report for the year ended 30/6/2023

**Discussion:** Nothing of major note.

Moved By: Janine Hunt

**Seconded By:** Stuart Hitchcock

Outcome: Carried

#### 7. Notices of Motion – "Special Business"

None Received

#### 8. Receive Business Reports as published in the Annual Report

• As per the 2023 Annual Report

#### 9. Election of Life Members

Nominations, as received by the CEO 14 days before the AGM (Monday 9th October 2023) In accordance with the rotational policy relating to the Life Members, the following nominations were received:

• Stephanie Thompson

**Decision:** Approved by unanimous decision.

#### 10. Election of Board Members

Nominations, as received by the CEO 14 days before the AGM (Monday 9th October 2023) In accordance with the rotational policy relating to the Board Directorship, the Elected Directors with tenure to AGM 2023, are:

- Scott Tunkin
- Jason Chabi
- Peter Worboys

**Decision:** With three positions up for re-election, the incumbent Directors ran unopposed and were re-elected to the Board of Baseball NSW as Elected Directors with tenure for 2 years (i.e., until AGM 2025).

#### 11. Announcement of Standing Committee Delegates

 Forms have been received from Delegates to Baseball NSW. Those who were yet to complete the form were advised to please do so immediately.

#### 12. Announcement of Audit Committee Nomination Requests

• Gail Henderson and John Wingrove's respective nominations for the Audit Committee were received.

## 13. Announcement of Technical Committee Appointments

- Two Nominations received:
  - Gary White
  - Matt O'Neill

14. Meeting Closed: 8.09 pm

TAB A - Voting Delegates Present at the 2023 BNSW AGM

| Organisation                              | Delegate                |
|---|-------------------------|
| Standing Committees                       |                         |
| Minor League Standing Committee           | Stuart Hitchcock        |
| Country League Standing Committee         | Craig Scheibel          |
| Junior League Standing Committee          |                         |
| State League Standing Committee           |                         |
| Sydney Winter League Standing Committee   | Janine Hunt             |
| Women's League Standing Committee         |                         |
| Officials                                 |                         |
| Scorers Association                       | Vera Bonham             |
| NSW Baseball Umpires Assoc                | _                       |
| State League Clubs                        |                         |
| Baulkham Hills                            | Stephen Dredge          |
| Blacktown Workers                         | -                       |
| Canterbury Vikings                        | Rob Cook                |
| Cronulla Sharks                           | Darren Cummings         |
| Macarthur Orioles                         | Tim Inglis              |
| Manly Eagles                              | -                       |
| Greater Western                           | Mathew Forbes           |
| Ryde Hawks                                | Kerri Tsui              |
| Juniors                                   |                         |
| Cronulla Sutherland Junior Baseball Assoc | Darren Cummings         |
| Greater Western Baseball Assoc            |                         |
| Hills Junior Baseball Assoc               | Jeff Catt               |
| Macarthur Baseball League                 | Shane Dodd              |
| Manly Junior Baseball Assoc               | Brook Russell           |
| Ryde Hawks Baseball League                | Paul Van der Westhuizen |
| Country                                   |                         |
| Central Coast Baseball Assoc              | Scott McBeath           |
| Hastings Baseball Assoc                   | Michael Potts           |
| Coffs Harbour Baseball Assoc              | Ben McCall              |
| Shoalhaven Baseball Assoc                 |                         |
| Baseball Illawarra                        | Judy Clifford           |
| Newcastle Baseball Assoc                  | Fiona Hinton-Rodgers    |
| Northern Rivers Baseball Assoc            | <u>-</u>                |
| Tamworth Baseball Assoc                   | David McMurray          |
| Far North Coast Baseball Assoc            | Craig Scheibel          |
| Wagga Wagga Baseball Assoc                | <u>-</u>                |
| Others                                    |                         |
| Cronulla Sutherland Minor League          | Stuart Hitchcock        |
| Pacific Coast Baseball League             |                         |
| Manly Minor League                        |                         |
| St George Baseball Assoc                  | Stuart Hitchcock        |
| Sydney Metro                              | -                       |